Port Pirie Railway Station
A regional economic revitalisation initiative through community-led heritage regeneration.
By drawing on existing built and cultural heritage, the Silver to Sea Way project will transform the Port Pirie Railway Station into a unique part of the local visitor economy.
The Ellen Street Railway Station was completed in November 1902. Originally, the domed verandah roof was painted red, blue, green and yellow. However, Archdeacon Samwell headed a campaign against these ‘gaudy’ decorations and it was soon repainted with a more subdued stone colour. But the colours weren’t the only problem with the new railway station’s tower – by the end of the construction phase, there had been insufficient funds to purchase the clocks needed to decorate it. The solution? The holes intended for clocks were boarded up!
In July 1967, following the introduction of standard gauge tracks, the Ellen Street station was closed, as its platform was not long enough to cope with the transition between all three gauges.
The Port Pirie Railway Station has been on the National Trust of South Australia’s Heritage Register since 1977 and the South Australian Heritage Register since 1981. It has operated as the Port Pirie Historic and Folk Museum for several decades.
Next door, the former Customs House was built in 1882.